Stabat Mater (Part 1 of The Marian Cycle for Unaccompanied Voices, 56 pp.)

Elia, Anthony J.

"The Marian Cycle" is an extensive 12-part work, based on 12 Latin texts about the Virgin Mary. The composer started writing this work in January 2013, and the settings are for mixed unaccompanied chorus, in various arrangements of female and male voices. The first work in the series, the Stabat Mater, was completed in March 2013, and rehearsed with Vita and Ishmael Wallace at that time in NYC. The 12 parts are: 1) Stabat Mater, 2) Ave Regina Caelorum, 3) Alma Redemptoris Mater, 4) Ave Maris Stella, 5) Angelus, 6) Flos Carmeli, 7) Ave Maria, 8) Magnificat, 9) Memorare, 10) Regina Coeli, 11) Salve Regina, 12) Sub Tuum Praesidum. (NB: The composer has also written a “Magnificat” for his Christmas Oratorio “Nativitatis Christi,” which is scored for mixed chorus and organ.) All of these parts will be available on Academic Commons.



More About This Work

Academic Units
Burke Library
Published Here
July 25, 2013