Learning-Oriented Assessment: The Affective Dimension

Stabler-Havener, Michelle L.

As elucidated by Purpura and Turner in their presentation at the Teachers College Columbia University Round Table in Second Language Studies (TCCRISLS) 2014 conference, language-oriented assessment (LOA) emphasizes the centrality of learning when the interrelatedness between instruction, assessment, and learning are examined. The LOA framework is composed of seven dimensions: the contextual dimension, the elicitation dimension, the proficiency dimension, the learning dimension, the instructional dimension, the interactional dimension, and the affective dimension. This article will explore the affective dimension as it surfaced in the papers presented at the TCCRISLS conference.


  • thumnail for 3.6-Stabler-Havener-2014.pdf 3.6-Stabler-Havener-2014.pdf application/pdf 111 KB Download File

Also Published In

Working Papers in TESOL & Applied Linguistics

More About This Work

Academic Units
Applied Linguistics and Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages
Published Here
November 9, 2015