Academic Commons


Banjo Quartet (1st Movement)

Elia, Anthony J.

The Banjo Quartet (for Banjo, Violin, Viola, and ‘Cello) was inspired by the music of Béla Fleck. After hearing an interview of Fleck on a NYC radio show, along with classical works he had written, the composer set out to write works for banjo and mixed classical instrumentation. This is the first work for banjo written by Elia, and is dedicated to Béla Fleck and his impeccable craft and skill. This is the first movement of a planned three-movement banjo quartet.



  • thumnail for Banjo_Quartet__1st_Movement_.pdf Banjo_Quartet__1st_Movement_.pdf application/pdf 2.34 MB Download File

More About This Work

Academic Units
Burke Library
Published Here
September 20, 2013
Academic Commons provides global access to research and scholarship produced at Columbia University, Barnard College, Teachers College, Union Theological Seminary and Jewish Theological Seminary. Academic Commons is managed by the Columbia University Libraries.