What Vanuatu's Recognition of Abkhazia Might Mean

Mitchell, Lincoln A.

This past weekend the small Pacific Island country of Vanuatu announced that it would recognize the independence of Abkhazia, the disputed territory on the Black Sea which is viewed as independent by Russia, Nauru, Vanuatu, Venezuela and Nicaragua, but is seen as part of Georgia by most of the rest of the world. Abkhazia, along with South Ossetia, another polity which has broken away from Georgia, was recognized as independent states by Russia following the Russia Georgia war of 2008, but have struggled to receive broader recognition since that time. Russia is the patron of both Abkhazia and South Ossetia, but has not been able to persuade many states to join them in recognizing the independence of these two places.


  • thumnail for What_Vanuatu_s_Recognition_of_Abkhazia_Might_Mean.pdf What_Vanuatu_s_Recognition_of_Abkhazia_Might_Mean.pdf application/pdf 128 KB Download File

More About This Work

Academic Units
Harriman Institute
Published Here
October 28, 2011