Quatuor pour temps incertains (8th Movement-SCORE)

Elia, Anthony J.

The “Quatuor pour temps incertains” is a Quartet for Bb Clarinet, Violin, ‘Cello, and Piano, inspired by the work “Quatuor pour la fin du temps” by Oliver Messiaen. The present work is also in 8-movements, and composed with the same instrumentation as Messiaen’s work. The parts are based on aspects of life, memory, spirit, and prayer, for example, though not directly tied to Messiaen’s biblical inspirations. The composer of the present work first got the idea to write this “Quatuor,” after reading a piece about Messiaen by clarinetist Nurhak Tuncer, for whom this was written. The 8-movements of this piece include: Part 1: Incertitude, Part 2: Fragilté, Part 3: Recherche, Part 4: E’quilibre, Part 5: Esprit, Part 6: Repos, Part 7: Prière, Part 8: Résurrection. (All individual parts for the 8 movements will be available on Academic Commons).



  • thumnail for Quatuor_pour_temps_incertains__Part_8_.pdf Quatuor_pour_temps_incertains__Part_8_.pdf application/pdf 1.08 MB Download File

More About This Work

Academic Units
Burke Library
Published Here
September 12, 2013