Academic Commons


Review of Evan Jones, ed., Intimate Voices: The Twentieth Century
String Quartet (Rochester University Press, 2009)

Kozak, Mariusz S.

This two-volume, 750-page tome, edited by Evan Jones, is a major contribution both to music analysis and to scholarship on the string quartet. It comprises essays by some of today’s leading theorists, each one taking on a single composer and closely examining his or her approach to the string quartet. As such, it is truly a scholarly tour de force, a monumental assembly--both in size and essence--of analytical and historical approaches to the genre.



Also Published In

Music Theory Online

More About This Work

Academic Units
Society for Music Theory
Published Here
April 21, 2015


View this review on the journal website at

Academic Commons provides global access to research and scholarship produced at Columbia University, Barnard College, Teachers College, Union Theological Seminary and Jewish Theological Seminary. Academic Commons is managed by the Columbia University Libraries.